April 12, 2016

March 2016 Accolades

Spencer R. Crew, Robinson Professor of American, African American, and Public History, was a panelist for a session on public history at the meeting of the American Historical Association. He gave a lecture on the Great Migration for a program on the Harlem Renaissance at Northern Virginia Community College for the Tinner Hill Heritage Association. He also lectured on the Underground Railroad in Virginia for the Burke Historical Society in Burke, Virginia.

Robert Hazen, Robinson Professor of Earth Sciences, presented the Morgan Lecture at Appalachian State University, Boone, N.C., on “Chance, Necessity, and the Origins of Life.” He also lectured at the Sorbonne in Paris on mineral evolution, and at the Institute de Physique du Globe de Paris on “mineral ecology.” He was named co-chair of the Task Force 2020, an international committee charged with planning the future of deep carbon research.

Laurie O. Robinson, Robinson Professor of Criminology, Law and Society, was named a member of the Independent Commission on New York City Criminal Justice and Incarceration Reform, chaired by former New York State Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman.